The Sixth Meeting of Academic Advisory Committee of Tsinghua-Berkeley Shenzhen Institute Successfully Held

November 06 2017

The sixth meeting of Academic Advisory Committee (hereinafter referred to as “AAC”) of Tsinghua-Berkeley Shenzhen Institute (hereinafter referred to as “TBSI”) was held in Shenzhen, Beijing, Hong Kong and California, USA simultaneously through remote video on the morning of November 1, 2017.


Co-Chairmen of TBSI AAC: Shankar Sastry, Dean of Engineering School of UC Berkeley, and Bin Yang, Provost and Vice President of Tsinghua University, and members of TBSI AAC:  Connie Chang-Hasnain, Liwei Lin, Max Shen, Max Shen, Jonh Ngai, Ronald Cohen, Feiyu Kang, Xiqin Wang, Wenwu Zhu, Hui Ma and Hongying Hu attended the meeting. The meeting was hosted by Lin Zhang, Dean of TBSI.


The meeting officially began on 7am (Beijing Time). The ACC meeting worked on deliberation on several aspects including recent work progress, personnel affairs, teaching affairs and administrative affairs. First, the meeting deliberated on recent work progress by briefing from the situations of new campus construction, undergraduates of master’s degree or PhD, enrollment of 2018, exchange visits between full-time teachers’ team, TBSI and members from Berkeley and interactive academic communication. The meeting then focused on and discussed specific topics such as setting up External Advisory Board (hereinafter referred to as “EAB”) and optimizing the framework of TBSI.

The meeting also deliberated on personnel affairs including the second-round teacher candidates in 2017, regulations on visiting professors coming to China and forming Committee of Teacher Compensation. On the other hand, TBSI also set up Committee of Appointment and Promotion (hereinafter referred to as “CAP”) this autumn to discuss and preview the teacher candidates before the AAC meeting. CAP recommended 5 teacher candidates to the AAC conference in its first meeting which was held on October 16. Later, the AAC meeting focused on and discussed setting up Committee of Teacher Compensation. It suggested Shankar Sastry, Lin Zhang, Liwei Lin, Peter Lobie, Yulin Zhong and Ling Zhu act as members of the committee who are responsible for deliberating and verifying teachers’ salary.

The meeting deliberated on teaching affairs, focusing on and discussing setting up Committee of Student Education (hereinafter referred to as “CSE”). Then, it also reviewed the major responsibility and list of the committee members. CSE should be appointed by the AAC and aim at dealing with related teaching routine.

The AAC meeting deliberated on administrative affairs, focusing on and discussing topics such as setting up EAB and appointing new Berkeley principal investigator. For the purpose of improving the overall layout of the institute and scientific level of decision-making,            broadening mind for leadership academic development, identifying leading research orientation, TBSI proposed to set up External Advisory Board(EAB) to promote communication, understanding, and coordination between fields of academy and industry, non-governmental organizations and government departments,  and to help our institute constructing world-class revolutionary studies and education bases while also playing a better role of driving economic development through innovation acceleration by interdisciplinary and transformational research promotion. The nomination of Dr. EI Ghaoui and Dr. Somayeh Sojoudi to be the new principal investigator has been approved by the meeting successfully.

TBSI ACC meets twice every year since its establishment on February 2015. The Committee will supervise scientific research and teaching implementation and offer guidance on institute operation and its overall development. The Committee was formed by six members from Tsinghua University and another six from the UC Berkeley.

The results of the sixth meeting of AAC will indicate the direction and blueprint on teaching, scientific research, talent introduction and administrative management for TBSI in the new developing period. In a word, Tsinghua University and UC Berkeley will write a new chapter in future institute development, interdisciplinarity creation and integrated innovation by virtue of AAC mechanism.